Queen of Katwe – Giveaway 

An Unlikely champion, we are having a little giveaway to celebrate the release of Disney’s Queen of Katwe which is based on the inspiring true story of Robert Katende and Phiona Mutesi which opens in theatres Sept 30th!

Living in the slums of Katwe, Uganda the least of all places one would find a sports champion let alone a Chess champion, Phiona rises up with the help and mentoring of her coach Robert Katende. We all have that one person who we can think back in our lives that has made such a difference and pushed us to levels we never thought possible and achieve things never thought possible only because we may not see it in ourselves. We all  have something inside of us that sometimes needs a spark to ignite into something bigger than us. It sometimes takes that one person to ignite that spark!

I can say I have had many mentors and champions in my life that have helped me grow as a person professionally, artistically, spiritually and personally. I consider myself very lucky in that I have surrounded myself with such a diverse group of people that I know where to turn when I need some help or advice. One such person right now is my son. He is 16 months old and I have had the pleasure of seeing the same world I have been looking at for that last 33 years, through the eyes of a 16 month old. He inspires me to take a step back and soak up every single minute of every single day. I have learned to take the time with my lovely wife and enjoy the simpler things in life and appreciate them more. The laundry can sit there for a little while longer and the dishes can sit there an hour more because it will not be the end of the world. There are so many horrible things going in this world at this current moment that tomorrow is not promised. Seeing how my little guys sees things and is taking it all in just makes more patient and humble to everything around me nowadays. It is funny how I chose my son as I know there are a lot of other people doing so much more but I feel it can so much more than that to inspire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjef1N2lKf0&sns=em

Now for the giveaway! Comment on who inspires you with a little story and we will randomly pick a winner for the $25 Target Gift Card! Winners announced by Monday Oct 4th!

One thought on “Queen of Katwe – Giveaway 

Leave a Reply

